49 artists “Inspired by Katahdin”

Cover image courtesy of Bill Bentley and David Little.

Maine’s majestic Mount Katahdin is the muse for the 49 artists participating in “Inspired by Katahdin,” juried by brothers David and Carl Little, on view at the Harlow Gallery in Hallowell, November 7-29, 2014. An opening reception will take place Friday, November 7, 5:00-8:00 p.m. and is free and open to the public.  

The artists in the show come from all across the state and offer a wide range of motifs and mediums in their work. The exhibition was inspired by the acclaimed Art of Katahdin: The Mountain, the Range, the Region written by artist and author David Little and edited by Carl Little. Published by Down East Books in 2013, the book follows an historic timeline using art inspired by the mountain, as well as Katahdin-related literature, photography, graphics, maps and more.  The Littles will be signing copies of the book at the show’s opening reception. 

“Inspired by Katahdin” is sponsored by Eaton Peabody Attorneys at Law of Augusta, Legacy Properties, Sotheby’s International Realty of Damariscotta, Macomber, Farr and Whitten Insurance Agency of Augusta and by Cribstone Capital Management Financial of Augusta, and is supported by our Season Sponsors:  The Bank of MaineCapitol Dental CareDead River Co., Great Gatherings, the City of Hallowell, the late Mr. Brooks Harlow, Jr., the Jennings FamilyKennebec Savings Bank and the Vallee Brothers, Chris and Ray Vallee.

Eaton Peabody Logo  

Legacy Properties log

Macomber Farr Whitten logo 800dpi

The Harlow Gallery, located at 160 Water Street in Hallowell, is open noon to 6:00 p.m., Wednesday–Saturday. For more information and a complete list of artists, visit or call 207-622-3813.

Participating artists by town are as follows:

Auburn: John R. Wiley

Bath: Michael Branca

Beals: Valerie Aponik

Belfast: David Estey

Biddeford: Rachael Eastman

Deer Isle: Frederica Marshall

Durham: Stephanie Berry

East Boothbay: Carlton Plummer

Eastbrook: Paul Alexandre John

Farmington: Alana Ranney

Gardiner: John Carnes and Janet Favor

Georgetown: Katherine Gray and Amy Peters Wood

Hallowell: Christopher Cart, Jym St. Pierre and the late Ellen Twisleton Vaughan, via the Vaughan Homestead Foundation

Hampden: Kay Carter

Hartland: Olena Babak

Hope: Bill Bentley

Indian Island: Michael Vermette

Lincolnville: Stefan Pastuhov

Lubec: Tim Gaydos

Millinocket: Cat Clark and Marsha Donahue

Monmouth: Doris Anne Holman

Mount Desert Island: R. Scott Baltz and Judy Taylor

Mount Vernon: Pamela Hetherly

New Milford: Diane Dubreuil

New Portland: Nora West

New Sharon: Angie Blevins

Oakland: Abbott Meader

Orono: Teddi-Jann Covell

Pittston: Judith Schuppien

Portland: Douglas Howe

Readfield: J. Thomas R. Higgins

Searsport: Sandy Dolan

Sidney: Suzanne Savage Brewer

Surry: Nancy Hathaway

Topsham: Keith Spiro

Walpole: Erica Qualey

Washington: Joan Freiman

West Bath: Evelyn Dunphy

Westbrook: Caren-Marie Michel

Winthrop: Penny Markley and Kerry Wilkins-Deming

and from Webster, MA: John Redick and Pamela Redick

opening night photography by Allison McKeen

 [gblugall id=””]