Art2010 Winners!

Art2010 Winners!

Juror Robert Lash & Curatorial Consultant Kerstin Gilg would like to thank all the artists who submitted work to the 15th annual juried show at the Harlow Gallery. The selection process was both difficult and enjoyable. We were impressed by the range and the quality of the submissions and felt privileged to be able to see so much interesting and thoughtful work.


Winner Best in Show $500 cash prize sponsored by Kennebec Savings Bank
Debra Arter of Damariscotta for “Census 2010” (hand printed bargain bacon on Asian paper)

“This very powerful print gets its strength from the color and shape of the composition. The scale of the image, the way it is presented and the placement within the frame all add to a very compelling piece. The work finds success between starkness and complexity that makes it intriguing and fun. The unconventional materials used in producing the work inform the piece with a good mix of metaphor and irony. We applaud the artist for their creativity and exploration.” — Robert Lash & Kerstin Gilg

Winner 2nd place, $250 cash prize sponsored by DownEast Energy & Building Supply
Martha Briana
of Northport for her collage “The Venus of Italian Museum Art”

“The layering of imagery in this collage is a treat to explore. The piece is successful as a study of the human form, and the added detail within the image from the collage construction make it well worthy of prolonged study. From a distance the piece appears as an ink wash or drawing, this subtlety of light and shadow in a collage is quite remarkable.”  — Robert Lash & Kerstin Gilg

Winner 3rd place, $150 cash prize sponsored by Savings Bank of Maine
George Paton of Bowdoinham for his photograph “Tide Line”

“The textures and forms within this photograph stand out in a dramatic way. The scale of the image offers an intimate look at where the water and land meet with crisp detail. Photography is about capturing light and this piece manages to capture the essence of the beach-transition in a clean and vital way.”— Robert Lash & Kerstin Gilg

Winner of Juror’s Choice Prize, $150 sponsored by Great Gatherings of Augusta
Brian Kent of Litchfield for his wood & stainless steel sculpture “Oak Facets”

“This piece gets tremendous energy from its abstracted form. The object suggests many possibilities from the natural world. The form is well thought out and the wood grain and natural coloration compliment it in a very effective manner. The piece has a strong yet graceful balance. The rough hewn surface completes the piece in very satisfying manner.”  — Robert Lash & Kerstin Gilg

Winner of Juror’s Choice Prize, $150 sponsored by Susan MacPherson & Richard Davies of Hallowell
Jon Lorence of Newcastle for his drawing “The Reverse View of Taos Mountain”

“The interplay between the bold black and white shapes has a potent energy that gets reinforced through the blurred edges and thin black marks on the paper.  The positive and negative space that constitute this piece has a power that holds the attention of the eye and encourages exploration within the forms of the work.”  — Robert Lash & Kerstin Gilg

Honorable Mention Winners (in alphabetical order)
Debra Arter of Damariscotta for her monoprint “The Book of Bacon”
James Chute of Freeport for his acrylic painting “100130”
Scott King of Farmingdale for “Show Biz”, collage & acrylic on paper
Cindy J. Rehagen Langwisch for her photograph “Combined Strengths”
Scott Minzy of Pittston for his untitled linocut
Melissa Post van der Burg of Augusta for her oil painting “Murray’s Bagels”
Linwood Riggs of Augusta for his photograph “Foggy Morning on the Kennebec”
Linwood Riggs of Augusta for his photograph “Two Birds, One Fish”
Jean Victory of Winslow for her oil painting “Syrup Pitcher”

Honorable mention prizes provided by:
Beach’s Custom Framing of Hallowell
Community Wellness Centerof Farmingdale
Fogg Art Custom Framing of Wiscassett
Gosline’s Hardware of Farmingdale
Kennebec Valley Art Association of Hallowell
Maine Accent of Hallowell
Rail Road Square Cinema of Waterville

1 Comment

  • […] January 1, 2010 Tags: Juried show. prize winners Debra Arter, Winner of Best in Show Art2010 Complete list of winners from Art2010 […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.