Art2018, 23rd Annual Juried Show



On Thursday, May 1st curator Bethany Engstrom judged The Harlow’s 23rd annual juried art exhibition. 38 works of art by 20 Maine artists were selected to be included in the the exhibition out of a total of 415 works submitted by 150 artists. Art2018 is on view May 9-June 2, 2018 at The Harlow’s new location: 100 Water Street in Hallowell. Gallery hours are Wednesday-Saturday 12-6pm and Sundays 12-4pm. The opening reception is Wednesday, May 9 from 5-7pm, with prizes announced at 6pm. The public is invited to attend to meet the artists and to experience a diverse mix of high quality artwork from all corners of Maine.

Click here for a complete list of this year’s prize winners.

This year’s juror is Bethany Engstrom; a curator, artist, and educator living in Belfast, Maine. She is associate curator at the Center for Maine Contemporary Art in Rockland, Maine and was previously at the Farnsworth Art Museum.  She has taught as an adjunct instructor at Unity college and the Intermedia MFA program at University of Maine. Bethany received a BA in Art History, her MFA in Intermedia, and an Interdisciplinary PhD in Intermedial Collaborative Practices, all from the University of Maine. She was a 2017-2018 artist in residence at the Ellis-Beauregard Foundation and she was a 2013 fellow at Mildred’s Lane.

A list of artists accepted into Art2018 by town is as follows:

Appleton: David Allen
Augusta: Oliver Solmitz
Bangor: Wade Warman
Brooks: Maxwell Nolin
Buxton: Michele A. Caron
Freeport: James Chute
Gardiner: Matt Demers, Allison McKeen
Kennebunk: Tanya Fletcher
Lyman: Nancy Kureth
Portland: Chelsea Ellis, Karen Merritt, Liz McGhee, Patrick Stavens
Richmond: K. Scott Davis, Ruthanne Harrison
Saco: Julie K. Gray
Topsham: Andrew Elijah Edwards, Ian Trask
Woolwich: Ellen Golden

The Harlow is supported by Camden National Bank, the City of Hallowell, Kennebec Savings Bank, The Liberal Cup and The Maine House, the Roxanne Quimby Foundation and by our members.

Season Sponsors for 2018 are Book Orchard Press, Capitol Dental Care, Chris Walters Productions, Doug & Melinda Jennings, Eaton Peabody Attorneys at Law, Scrummy Afters Candy Shoppe, Slates Restaurant and Target Electric Corporation.

Programming is funded in part by a Partnership Grant from the Maine Arts Commission, an independent state agency supported by the National Endowment for the Arts.

The Harlow is a membership based 501(c)3 nonprofit dedicated to connecting and celebrating art, artists and community in downtown historic Hallowell since 1963. Exhibitions are always free and open to the public. Hours are Wednesday-Saturday noon-6pm and Sunday 12-4pm. For more information please visit or call 207-622-3813.

[gblugall id=””]