Art2019, 24th Annual Juried Show

*Award ceremony at 6pm

On Sunday, May 5th, 2019 curator Myron Beasley judged The Harlow’s 24th annual juried art exhibition. 38 works of art by 38 artists were selected to be included in the the exhibition out of a total of 370 works submitted by 167 artists.

Art2019 is on view  May 10-June 15, 2019 at 100 Water Street in Hallowell in the upstairs gallery with an opening reception Friday, May 10, 5-7pm. Art2019 prizes will be announced at 6pm. The public is invited to attend the opening to meet the artists and to experience a diverse mix of high quality artwork from all corners of Maine.

This year’s juror is Myron M. Beasley, Ph.D., a professor at Bates College, artist writer, and international curator. His writing explores the intersection of cultural politics, art and social change. He has been awarded fellowships and grants by the Andy Warhol Foundation, the Whiting Foundation, National Endowment for the Humanities, the Kindling Fund, The Davis Family Foundation, the Ruth Landes Award from the Reed Foundation, and most recently Dorathea and Leo Rabkin Foundation for his ethnographic writing about art and cultural engagement. Some of his recent curatorial projects includes Re.Past:Remembering Malaga (Maine, 2018) , Print Protest Poster (Able Baker Gallery, 2018),  Seeing Lewiston (2013), Patience on a Monument: Recent work by Eto Otitigbe (UT, Austin 2016), Raw Material, Dakar’rt (Dakar 2014) The Ghetto Biennale (Haiti, 2009), CAAR Paris (France 2010).  His writing has appeared in many academic journals including Liminalities: The Journal of Performance Studies, The Journal of Poverty, Text and Performance Quarterly, Museum & Social Issues, The Journal of Curatorial Studies and Performance Research, Gastronomica.

A list of artists accepted into Art2019 by town is as follows:
Appleton: David Allen
Augusta: Valerie Porter
Belfast: Robert Adler
Bristol: Conrad Guertin
Buxton: Peter Bennett, Michele Caron
Canaan: Kathleen Perelka
Cape Elizabeth: Adriane Herman, Marci Spier
Durham : Stephanie Berry
Falmouth: Jennifer Bush
Freeport: James Chute, Amy Kustra
Gardiner: Matt Demers
Hallowell: Ru Allen, Robert Katz
Harpswell: Doreen Nardone
Jamaica Plain, MA: Rosie Ranauro
Kennebunk: Tanya Fletcher
Manchester: Bruce Armstrong, Edward Buonvecchio
Nobleboro: Carolyn Gabbe
Norway: Anne Stuer
Orono: Mary Manley
Orr’s Island: Catherine Gibson
Pittston: Scott Minzy
Port Clyde: Ron Crusan
Portland: Leah Cross, M P Landis
Readfield: Camille Davidson
Rochester, NH: Jayne Adams
Temple: Tom Jessen
Topsham: Andrew Edwards
Waldoboro: Linda Mahoney
Waterville: Ollie Solmitz
Winslow: Michelle McCutcheon
Yarmouth: Susan Carter, Tammy Ricker

Visitors are also invited to view HYPERTEXTURE, a two person exhibition featuring Ian Trask and Andrew Elijah Edwards which is on view in the downstairs gallery May 10-June 15. The opening reception will be held Friday, May 10, 5-7pm, in tandem with Art2019.

The Harlow is a membership based 501(c)3 nonprofit dedicated to connecting and celebrating art, artists and community in downtown historic Hallowell since 1963. Exhibitions are always free and open to the public. Hours are Wednesday-Saturday noon-6pm. For more information please visit or call 207-622-3813.



The Harlow is supported by the City of HallowellDirigo Capital AdvisorsKennebec Savings Bank, the Roxanne Quimby Foundation and by our members.


2019 Season Sponsors are Camden National BankCapitol Dental CareChris Walters Productions, Great Gatherings, Eaton Peabody Attorneys at Law and Scrummy Afters Candy Shoppe.

Programming is funded in part by the Maine Community Foundation, the Margaret E. Burnham Charitable Trust, and by  a Partnership Grant from the Maine Arts Commission, an independent state agency supported by the National Endowment for the Arts.