Artists selected for Harlow Gallery 17th annual juried art show announced

On Thursday, May 3rd, Amy Stacey Curtis and Luc Demers judged the 17th annual juried art exhibition at the Harlow Gallery in Hallowell. 55 works of art by 49 artists were juried into the exhibition, out of a total of 296 works of art submitted by 103 artists. Art2012 will be on view at the Harlow Gallery May 11 to June 2, 2012.

A list of artists accepted into Art2012 by town follows:

Cynthia Ahlstrin, Winthrop
Debra Arter, Damariscotta
Nancy Barron, Gardiner
Joan M. Bellucci, Wayne
Nancy Bixler, Hallowell
Claudia Brahms, Hallowell
Martha Briana, Northport
Wendy Burton, Oakland
Martha Stanford Campbell, East Madison
Hanji Chang, Lincolnville
James Chute, Freeport
Megan Daigle, Farmingdale
Matt Demers, Gardiner
Lloyd Ferriss, Richmond
Robert Gibson, Lewiston
Tom Gilbert, Topsham
Ross Grams, Vienna
Anna Griffin, Portland
Liz Hoag, Portland
Mildred Kennedy-Stirling, Greenville
Patricia King, Waterville
Scott King, Farmingdale
Ryan Kohler, Oakland
Judith Krischik, Mt. Vernon
Ed McCartan, Brunswick
Kathryn McCoig, Brunswick
Larinda Meade, Portland
Robin Miller, Augusta
Jason Morgan, Readfield
Judy Nixon, Bristol
Petrea Noyes, Lincolnville
Ian B. Ormon, Leeds
Kathleen Perelka, Canaan
Caroline Phillips, Farmingdale
Jeannie Piccini, Winslow
Bob Richardson, Washington
Alice V. Rohman, Farmingdale
Matthew Russ, Waterville
Judith Schuppien, Pittston
Holly Smith, Rockport
Jodi Thomas, Portland
Bill Tomsa, Topsham
Sally M. Wagley, Hallowell
Mary Becker Weiss, Augusta
Lisa Wheeler, Waterville
Barbra Whitten, Augusta
Jodi Williams, West Gardiner
Bill Wyman, Readfield

The public is invited to attend the opening celebration on Friday, May 11th from 5-8pm to experience a diverse mix of high quality artwork from all corners of Maine. The opening is free and open to the public. $1,350 in prize money will be awarded to artists in a ceremony beginning at 6 pm.  The annual juried art exhibition at the Harlow Gallery, now in its seventeenth year, draws artists to Hallowell from all over the state of Maine. Many thanks to Kennebec Savings Bank and to the Wolfington Group for sponsoring Art2012.



About the jurors:

Luc Demers is an artist living in Southern Maine. In the early nineties he studied art at USM, completing the BFA program with a concentration in photography.  In 1994, while continuing to pursue his personal work, he began working as a commercial photographer as well as shooting editorial work for The Casco Bay Weekly and The Maine Times. In 2010 he earned his MFA in Visual Art at Vermont College of Fine Arts. Currently, Demers is an exhibiting artist as well as an adjunct instructor at the University of Maine at Augusta teaching art.   Visit Luc’s website at

In 1998, Amy Stacey Curtis began an 18-year commitment to art-making, a project which would culminate through 9 solo-biennial exhibits from the year 2000 to the year 2016. In the end, Curtis will have installed 81 large-in-scope, interactive installation and new-media works in the vast mills of 8 or 9 Maine, USA towns. Each solo-biennial exhibit is a 22-month process, each exhibit exploring a different theme while requiring audience to perpetuate its multiple installations. The Maine Arts Commission’s 2005 Individual Artist Fellow for Visual Art, Curtis has committed to this work to convey that we are a part of a whole, that everyone and everything is connected and affects. Curtis’s seventh of nine solo biennials, SPACE, will take place October 6-26, 2012 throughout 30,000+ square feet of one of Maine’s vast abandoned mills or other industrial spaces. Learn more by visiting