Presenting Art2008 — 13th annual juried show at the Harlow Gallery



Exhibition Dates: May 9 – June 1, 2008
Opening Date: Friday, May 9th, 5-8pm, awards announced at 6pm

Art2008 to Showcase 35 Maine Artists at the Harlow Gallery
On Sunday, April 30th UMA professor of art Andrea Martens and Ted Arnold, a nationally known Maine painter, judged the 13th annual juried art exhibition at the Harlow Gallery in Hallowell. 45 pieces of artwork were juried into the show out of a total of 243 submissions from all over Maine. Prizes will be awarded at 6:30 pm on Friday, May 9th at the opening celebration of Art2008. A list of artists accepted into the show by town follows:

Augusta: Gary Levin; Bath: Linda Murray; Boothbay: Malcolm Browne; Brooks: Chris Noyes, Petrea Noyes; Camden: Greg Chilenski; Canaan: Kathleen Perelka; Carrabassett Valley: Karen Campbell; Damariscotta: Debra L. Arter, Penelope Moody; Dixfield: Christal Treadwell; Embden: Jim McLear; Farmingdale: Alice Rohman; Gardiner: Paula Collier; Hallowell: Corliss Chastain, Ellen Gibson, Nancy P. McGinnis, Martha Thornton; Jefferson:Frances Hodsdon; Litchfield:Brian Kent; Livermore Falls: LeeAnn LaFleur; Manchester: Joy Ribisi; Monmouth: Patricia Harrington; Mt. Vernon:Judith Krischik; Newcastle: John Lorence; Norridgewock: Danielle Gilcott; North Turner: Jennifer Wadsworth; Portland: Aimee E. Brown, Kathleen Daughan; South Bristol: Sally Loughridge; Standish: Michael C. Welch; Topsham: Robin Brooks; Whitefield: Julian Sacks; Winthrop: Phyllis Hartzler, Donald Kerr

The annual juried art exhibition at the Harlow Gallery, now in its thirteenth year, draws artists to Hallowell from all over the state of Maine. Join us for the opening celebration on May 9th to experience great artwork from all corners of the state. Free and open to the public, refreshments will be served. $1,200 in prize money will be awarded to artists in an awards ceremony beginning at 6:30pm:

Best in Show $500 Sponsored by Kennebec Savings Bank

Second Prize $250 Sponsored by DownEast Energy & Building Supply

Third Prize $150 Savings Bank of Maine

Juror’s Choice prize, $150, Sponsored by Digital ImageWorks

$150 Juror’s Choice Prize in honor of Brooks & Miriam Harlow

Haircut $100 People’s Choice Award, Sponsored by Haircut 100

(to be awarded at the end of the exhibition based on popular vote).

Honorable Mentions! (Awarded gift certificates donated by the following generous (mostly) local businesses: Cheap Joe’s Art Supplies, Elemental Angle Framers of Gardiner, Fogg Art Custom Framing & Painting Restoration of Wiscasset, Java Joes of Augusta, Longfellow’s Greenhouses of Manchester, Maine Accent of Hallowelland Mattson’s Home Decorating Center (of Augusta)

The following sponsors helped to make Art2008 possible: Michael Hudak, Wick & Ruth Johnson and Circling the Square Fine Art Press of Gardiner.

Proceeds from Art2008 support the Harlow Gallery, home of the Kennebec Valley Art Association, a 501(c)3 nonprofit whose mission is to promote the arts and artists in central Maine, for half a century now.

This year’s jurors:
Ted Julian Arnold (born Princeton, NJ, 1956) received his BA in Visual Studies from Dartmouth College, Hanover NH. His work is available at the Catharine Clark Gallery in San Francisco, California and at Aucocisco in Portland, Maine.

Andrea Martens is an Assistant Professor of Art at the University of Maine at Augusta, where she teaches printmaking, drawing, and design. Before moving to Maine, Andrea received her MFA in Printmaking from Colorado State University. She completed post-baccalaureate and undergraduate study at the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, and Virginia Tech. Her work has been exhibited both regionally and nationally.