Sit. Stay. Art!

“Spookie” by Susan J. Fowler of Madison, Maine, watercolor, 19.5″ x 23.5″.

October 4-26, 2013

In October we are delighted to present Sit. Stay. Art! in partnership with the Kennebec Valley Humane Society in Augusta.  Sit. Stay Art! is the result for an open call to Maine artists for work depicting animals of all kinds. The opening reception will take place on Friday, October 4, 2013 from 5-8pm and everyone is invited.  The show will run through Saturday, October 26.  Sales commissions will be split between the KVHS and the Harlow Gallery, benefiting both animals and the arts!

Many thanks to The Red Barn in Augusta, and Cause for Paws of Hallowell for sponsoring Sit. Stay. Art!

The Red Barn

Red alert! Our friends at the Kennebec Valley Humane Society are low on dog food, so we are doing an pet food drive during the opening on Friday.  If you can, please bring dried or canned pet food with you on opening night, and we’ll make sure it gets to the shelter. NOTE: naturally colored food without dyes or food coloring is preferred, so please check the label.

This exhibition, and our entire 2013 exhibition lineup has been made possible by season sponsors the Bank of MaineDead River CompanyKennebec Savings Bank and Milestone Communications, and by generous support from the City of Hallowell.

Hours are Wednesdays and Saturdays noon to 6 pm, Thursdays and Fridays noon to 8pm.  We are also open by chance or appointment. 

Listed by town, the artists participating in Sit, Stay, Art! are:

Augusta – Keith Ludden, Julia Mason, Valerie Porter, Linwood Riggs
Bath – Judy Grace, Linda Murray
Bristol Sarah Gayle Carter, Judy Nixon
Brunswick – Marilyn Flanagan, Mary Becker Weiss
Bucksport -Keith Perkins
Damariscotta – Debra L. Arter
Fairfield- Chip Carty
Farmingdale – Scott King, Alice Rohman
Gardiner – Allison McKeen, Janet Favor, Tanya F. Russell, Christine Sullivan
Hallowell – Karen Allen, Ru Allen, Susanna Bryant, Amanda Chubbuck
Harpswell – Susan Rich
Jefferson – David Hodsdon
Kennebunk – Norma Johnsen
Kingfield – Penelope Hall
Lewiston – Brenda Giasson
Lincolnville – Petrea Noyes
Litchfield – Brian Kent
Madison – Susan J. Fowler
Mount Vernon – Pamela Hetherly
Nashua, NH – Vanessa N. De Zorzi
Newcastle – Leon Vanella
New Gloucester – Deborah Ann Hall
Newport – Jeanne Finley
Oakland – James Culley
Palermo – Jeanne Marie Coleman
Pittston – Judith Schuppien
Portland – Anna Griffin
Richmond – Lloyd Ferris, Jane Frost
Sidney – Marilyn J. Eccles, Lin Lee, Marie Spaulding
South China – Marcia Berkall
South Portland – Arwen Edsall
Springvale – Jean Noon
Vassalboro – Ann E. Rhinehardt
West Gardiner – Kay Morris
Winslow – Sara Porier
Winthrop – Mark Christopher, Stephanie Harkness, Don Kerr, Penny Markley, Reed Markley
Yarmouth – Molly Blakeman, Susan Carter

 [gall columns=”3″ id=””]